Ninety-Nine & 1

Once upon a time….

I was told of a story in the bible that was supposed to make sense to me but did not make sense . I watched my teacher in church read the story to us, and as usual with so much passion. Although I did not doubt the sincerity of the story, I could not just bring myself to agree with it.

I thought about the story over and over again hoping it would make some sort of sense to me as I did not want to be rebellious by opposing the story. Unfortunately for me, my young analytical mind stood as a barrier. It simply did not make sense and that was what it was..c’est fini.

 And so I nodded with the rest of the class as if it made sense…..

I would later realise that I  was selfish and self centered. Apparently it wasn’t my analytical mind that stood as a barrier, it was my selfishness for my thoughts of the story were linked to the decisions I’ll take as a person rather than on the truth that was supposed to be revealed to my heart.

I simply did not think it made sense for anyone to stress themselves over one lost item when they had Ninety -Nine others somewhere else.

If I had 100 beautiful bags for instance and I misplaced Ten of them, I don’t think I’ll go to look for the lost 10 bags. If I had 100 coins and I also misplace twenty of them, I’ll reluctantly look for them and if I don’t see  them  after 10 minutes of searching , then I’m done searching.

By now, you’ll know I am referring to the parable of the lost sheep in Luke 15 where Jesus said:

Suppose one of YOU has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it? And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep.’

‘YOU’? that means ‘ME’. I panicked when I first heard the story

But Jesus you know I am not capable of going through this length over anything, I also don’t want to be in your bad books. Can’t you just manage the 99 sheeps that you have, why must you leave the Ninety-Nine behind and go look for just one lost sheep?”. These questions plagued my young mind.

wp-1484059636712.jpeg

 

As  I continued to ruminate over this matter, I got another insight of the story. I thought to myself once more . “Why will Jesus leave a whole Ninety Nine of us and go look for just one more person? That means he doesn’t love us that much”

By now, I understood that the .’Sheep’ mentioned in the parable referred to human beings-You and I

Until I grew and I realised:

–  I was the lost sheep

-I was the lost sheep Jesus went to look for.

– I am the one he joyfully puts on his shoulders and takes home for all to see

– I am the one who he threw a party for when he got home – 

I am the one he showed  off  as his own 

I am the prodigal princess, His workmanship, created in him unto good works

My lesson goes thus: Man’s most respectable mind, intellect and reasoning are as corrupt as his lusts and passion; both equally incompetent to apprehend God – Little wonder why I was unable to see truth in the letters of the pages

Listen to: The Father’s Song by Steffany Gretzinger  :

Come out of hiding ,

you’re safe here with me;

 You were the one that I was thinking of when I rose from the grave..

Get rid of your shackles my victory’s yours .

 

.

.

.

Thanks for reading. You’re loved!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

