My Santa Claus

Santa Claus I whispered, saliva suddenly drying off my throat. I forced myself to breath so I could fully comprehend what was happening. You won’t blame me for forgetting how to breathe for a second after I explain how I got into this perplexed state of extreme shock that has threatened to burst my brain.

Growing up in a proper Nigerian home, the joy of Christmas  for me came first of all from eating original jollof rice. When I say original, I mean the jollof rice cooked over firewood and charcoal that gives it a distinct aroma and taste otherwise known as ‘party rice’. Secondly, it was the anticipation of shaking and collecting a gift which was most times a substandard toy that usually got spoilt or lost after the next day from a scruffy looking man dabbed in white and red costume which my mum called father Christmas. The other thing that made this period a festive one for me was the joy of  running around tormenting friends and neighbors with banger (Fire cracker) on the street. .

Far from memory lane, I am now 29 years old. I have since left the life of father Christmas and upgraded to Santa Claus, Jollof rice to Chinese rice, running to jet skiing.

Its another year and Christmas is close. I had just finished having dinner  at the famous and exquisite burj al arab restaurant in Dubai when I got a call from my boss asking me to remain in the restaurant that he was sending someone to drop a package for me.

”I hope he is not bringing extra work for me,cos’ I cannot afford to miss my flight”. I grumbled

Instagram kept me company while I waited for the unknown package. I had become so engrossed that I forgot why  I was waiting in the first place until someone tapped my shoulder and dropped an envelope on my table. I assumed it was a Christmas card and decided to open it out of courtesy so I could thank by boss .

No! The card wasn’t from my boss, it was from my Santa. I laughed inwardly thinking it was one of those regular Christmas thingy until I properly read the note:

May all the sweet magic of Christmas
conspire
to gladden your heart and fill every of your desire.

decorative christmas divider

Here’s from Santa to you for a work weldone in the year

First class ticket to any 2 countries of your choice

200% increase in Salary 

A Cadillac CTS Car

A $10000 voucher to any clothing store

decorative christmas divider
May the good times and treasures of the present
become the golden memories of tomorrow.
 Gift_Box_1
I blinked rapidly to clear my head of any optical illusion, but the content of the card stubbornly stared back at me. Still on cloud 9, Ï left the restaurant eager to be home so I could thank my mum for her numerous trips to the mountain to pray for me.
My Santa had been good to me, until I woke up.
No wonder the card ended with “May the good times and treasures of the present, become the golden memories of tomorrow”.
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

