Group 7 or Group 0

When I was in high school, my favorite topic was ” The periodic table”. For no reason, which I find  funny .Then, I would say I love group 7 element and hated group 0 element.

Out of high school and University, I decided to question my love and hate for this elements that has nothing to do with me and I was amazed.

#Throw back : Group 7 elements, otherwise known as “Halogens” are very active element. They have 7  valence electron in their outermost shell and they crave seriously for one more electron to achieve the octet state (Balance state) . Funny enough, I can relate this characteristics to we Humans . We are always craving for something to fill that void within us. It’s a relentless pursuit.  We try to look for different things to fill us just like Halogens….

In a dire need to reach the Octet state ,Halogens combine with other elements ( Especially group 1).  You would be surprised that even though “H” and “Na” are in the same group 1, Halogens react differently when combined  with any one of them.

E.g If you combine “Cl” (Halogen) with “Na” (Sodium) it gives you salt NaCl.  We all know that Salt “preserves” and “sweetens” that is good right?  .  But when combined with “Hydrogen” it forms “HCL” (Hydrogen chloride) which is  a strong Acid . Trust me , you don’t want to mess with that..

This characteristics perfectly relates to Humans.  Everyone has the potential to be good or bad but our environment and the people we are combined with determines/influences how we react. No one was born to be wicked or good.

But then I thought of Group 0 elements which I said I hated because they are “inactive” . Why do they seem inactive? It’s because they are  complete! ( Their valence electron is full )That struck something in my spirit!. I immediately remembered Hebrew 4:10 which says ” for he that is entered into  his rest, he also hath ceased from his own works as God did from his. 

Screenshot_2015-03-03-12-07-11-1No wonder this group are called “Inert gases” or “noble gases” because they are calm, they are not affected by other elements.

Like I said earlier , most of us are like group 7 elements, we are looking for something to fill that void and makes us whole, we are subjected to the happenings of our environments. But when the holy spirit fills that void, we enter into the state of rest, he inundates us with his goodness and grace so much that we are metamorphosed. We are still who we are even to people who are good or bad to us. The environment does not affect who we are in Christ , we are totally immune to it.

Where would you rather be? A Group 7 or a Group 0?

N:B

*Octet state: When the valence electron is complete(8)

*Group 7 : Electronegative: The affinity to attract electron reduces as the nucleus becomes farther away from the bonding pair.

Group 0: http://ow.ly/JRCJ6

15 thoughts on “Group 7 or Group 0

Add yours

  1. Very thoughtful and intelligent. The comparism is splendid. Ok, I am a default group 0… I can also be a group 7 when I want to.., The article about `feelings` in this blog is deep. That has been my mindset. Welcome Pelumi.

    Like

  2. You are so right dear, the constant feeling of inadequacy rules the minds and thoughts of so many ,even Christians. The Bible says we are complete in him and this what I believe about myself. well done girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

